Busy Bee- Busy Break

Hello lovelies!

A fair warning for those who are expecting food- this article is probably not what you were looking for. However, I would love if you stick around. 😀  (and yes, I am very aware that I skipped this week’s Feature Friday. I had been very busy getting my photography business in order for a successful new year!)

Judging by the extended forecast for good ol’Eastern Kentucky, I think it’s safe to assume that Spring has finally Sprung. So what does one do on beautiful, sunny 80º days? Shoot people, of course!

Ok, let me back that one up. If you have been keeping up with my blog you would already know this, but if you haven’t…. I am a photographer 😉 ! Being the photog that I am, it’s the only time in my life where it is perfectly acceptable to say “I shoot people for a living”.

I happen to be on spring break from culinary school and the weather couldn’t have picked a better time to start changing for the better. That’s the thing I love about Kentucky. Short (mild) winters and early springs. Don’t get me wrong, there came a few winters where I felt like it was never going to end, however, there always seemed to be a sort of beauty that followed.

Since break started, I have been quite the busy bee. I don’t even know where to begin. In just the middle of the week and I’ve already managed to finish my online class assignments for the week, edited a maternity session of one of my favorite clients, got my hair done as mentioned in my latest Featured Friday, attended a double child birthday party, put together a few dinners for some more food related blog posts, and photographed some portraits of my beautiful Cousin In-law (who happens to also be a fellow blogger, Simply Anna Lisa).

Since January, I knew that I wanted to do something with my life where I could be free to do what makes me truly happy. Which is why I created The Hungary Pollock. I also find love in my photography. It’s something that I have loved since my first ever camera, the Polaroid iZone. You know what I’m talking about. The skinny doohickey that instantly imprinted your image onto pretty peel-n-stick film ( I just found that you can buy these on Amazon- BONUS!). They were all the rage when I was a kid and I was some how fortunate to be gifted that from my mom and stepdad. I went through film like it was nothing. You can find Fujifilm’s updated version of the insta print camera’s by clicking the camera below. We plan on surprising my oldest daughter with this camera for her 5th birthday. Oh the fun she will have.

Ok, I’m getting off track. Don’t ya just love how easily that happens? Anyway, photography, as well as cooking, brings happiness to my soul. Like being in the kitchen, it allows me to get in touch with my creative side and see the world around me and capture its beauty. Photography has helped get me out of my comfort zone with my (self-diagnosed) social anxiety (I’ve always been nervous to meet new people).

I know all that sounds so made up but I am dead serious. I love everything about it. I love bringing smiles to my clients faces when they are presented with their online gallery and I love making children laugh at me when I am acting a fool just to get that perfect natural smile. I love making memories with my girls and being able to beautifully preserve those special moments with the snap of my shutter!

And since January, knowing what I wanted to do, I’ve decided that I need to focus more on establishing myself as a photographer and blogger. Last year was all trial and error for me. I knew that I loved photography but I never dreamed I would be where I am today, while still not where I want to be. I owe so much to the many photography Facebook groups I am a part of for all the knowledge I’ve obtained and I owe even more to the three kindest photographers who had taken time out of my day to answer any questions I’ve had.

We are two months and some odd days into the new year and I have many goals I have set for myself for the rest of the year.Starting with building a better clientele, booking more sessions, and building my brand. With all that being said… Big changes are coming to Samantha Holbrook Photography. Starting with me offering my first ever Mommy & Me Mini-session (super pumped but at the same time, super nervous about this). I can not wait to blog about these sessions.

Want to see how the pictures turned out from my recent sessions?

Here are some of my favorite shots from David and Rene’s Maternity session:

Here are some of my favorites from Simply Anna Lisa’s portrait session:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

